top of page

The 2016 Screen Actors Guild Awards

This year’s 22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards (SAG Awards) started the week off with an array of events, including a behind-the-scenes and auction display, on January 28th. In attendance were SAG Nominees, Sola Bamis (“Mad Men”) and Lesley Nicol (“Downtown Abby”), SAG Awards Executive Producer, Kathy Connell, Production Designer, Joe Stewart, Event Designer, Keith Greco, Awards Event Supervisor, Andrea Wyn Schall, Florist, Christopher Matsumoto, Champagne Taittinger Global Spokesperson and Artistic Director, Viatlie Taittinger and Patron Marketing Manager, Ed Blinn. Food, wine, champagne, spirits, table décor and flowers were on display. The SAG Awards Ceremony Auction began on January 29th. The auction benefits the SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s Children’s Literacy & Assistance Programs. Some of the items featured at the auction were autographed collectables from nominated actors, cast and set visits to “E” News and “Entertainment Tonight.” The auction will close on February 8th at 9 p.m. (ET) / 6 p.m. (PT). (

The Red Carpet Roll was another highlight of the SAG Awards. Excitement filled the air while everyone cheered, as the carpet was rolled out. Los Angeles Mayor, Eric Garcetti, was a participant in the ceremony.

The team who put the magic touch on this year’s SAG Awards ceremony, did a spectacular job, as their creativity spoke for itself. Executive Producer Kathy Connell, who has served as producer of the show, since co-founding it in 1994, previously announced the team, back in December. The Awards committee consists of Chair, JoBeth Williams, Vice Chair, Daryl Anderson and Committee members Shelley Fabares, Jason George and Woody Shultz; Producers, Gloria Fujita O’Brien and Benn Fleishman; Consulting Producer Mick McCullough; Director, Alan Carter; Production Designers John Shaffner and Joe Stewart; Lighting Designer Jeffrey Engel; Musical Director, Thomas Caffey; Film Segment Producers, Paul Fagen and Quinn Monahan; Talent Producer, Maggie Barrett-Caulfield; Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda, Executive in Charge of Publicity; Supervising Producer, Jon Brockett; Consulting Producer, Cynthia Kistler; Event Designer, Keith Greco and Event Supervisor, Andrea Wyn Schall.

“These are all extremely talented people, and I am consistently impressed by how closely they collaborate on making this both a special occasion and an outstanding broadcast,” said Connell.

Dinner was catered by Wolfgang Puck. The floral arrangement was created by CJ Matsumoto & Sons. Beverages served were FIJI Water, the official water for the SAG Awards and Champagne Taittinger, the official champagne for the SAG Awards. Other beverages served were Treasury Wines and Patron Tequila.

Another main attraction of the SAG Awards was the, very noteworthy, Red Carpet, where the essence of the many celebrated stars was captured, as they made their way into the Shrine Auditorium and Expo Hall, to be seated at their most elegant tables. Among those celebrities gracing the carpet were Queen Latifa, Katie Lowes, Sola Bamis, Kevin Spacey, Idris Elba, Eva Longoria, Sam Richardson, Corey Hawkins, January Jones, Aldis Hodge, Neil Brown, Jr., O’Shea Jackson, Jr., Jason Mitchell, Leonardo DiCaprio, Uzo Adubo and Tina Fey, to name a few.

Following the Red Carpet, the SAG Award’s ceremony promptly began. The premier event honored outstanding performances from 2015. The categories included film and television. The SAG Awards was simulcast live on TNT and TBS on Saturday, January 30 at 8 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m. (PT).

Honoree, Carol Burnett, received the SAG Life Achievement Award. Idris Elba celebrated two wins; Best Supporting Actor for his role in Beasts of No Nation and Best Actor in a Limited Series for Luther.

Among some of the other winners receiving a SAG Award were:

Kevin Spacey – Best Actor in a Drama (“House of Cards”)

Viola Davis – Best Actress in a Drama (“How to Get Away With Murder “)

Queen Latifah – Outstanding Performance by a Female Actress in a Television Movie or Miniseries (“Bessie”)

Jeffery Tambor – Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Comedy Series (“Transparent”)

Uzo Aduba – Best Actress in a Comedy (“Orange is the New Black”)

Brie Larson, Leonardo DiCaprio and Alicia Vikander also received honors.

Some of the presenters at this year’s awards show included Eva Longoria, Idris Elba, Tina Fey, Taye Diggs, Mark Ruffalo, Jason Mitchell, Pedro Pascal, Eddie Redmayne, Anna Faris, Anthony Mackie, Jason Bateman, Ken Howard, Kristen Wiig, O’Shea Jackson, Jr., Corey Hawkins, Julianne Moore and Jeremy Renner, to name a few.

The SAG Awards Ceremony was followed by a Gala.

The Screen Actors Guild Awards is a leader in sustainable production practices and is committed to reducing its environmental footprints. The SAG Awards received the Environmental Media Association prestigious Green Production Award in October 2013 and is the only televised special event to have received the honor for seven consecutive years. For more information on the SAG Awards, visit:


Photos Courtesy of Fuzionz Magazine and TV


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page