top of page

Exclusive Interview with Carol Barnes, Christian Author of Her New Book “I Won’t Apologize, I Did It

Question: Please tell our viewers about your upbringing, your family background, where you are from and who had a major impact on your life.

Answer: “I’m grateful to the Lord for allowing me to be brought up in a God-fearing home with a wonderful father and mother. I am originally a resident of Natchez, MS, born and raised. My parents had 8 children, with me being number 7 to be exact (LOL), which means that I was the baby girl. I wouldn’t change having a big family for nothing in the world. My parents made it look so easy back then, in having a large family. We never wanted for anything. They made sure we were fed, clothed and had a roof over our heads. As I look back on those days, I wonder how they made it on the income they were receiving. My father was the only one working and my mother was a stay-at-home mom. One thing my parents were very strict about was us getting our education. When you finished high school, you had to go to college or get put out of the house. So all of my siblings went to college and we all have our degrees, which my mother was so proud about because she had accomplished something that none of her siblings had done. Of course, my parents had a major impact on my life because, growing up as kids, parents are the first training camp to instruct children on how to do and become someone of substance when you become an adult. They teach us how to leave father and mother and cleave to our own mate, how the male is to treat a lady and how to become a woman of grace. This is why I have always wanted to create a culture of service to improve lives and solve problems of those who have struggles meeting their maximum potential. ”

Question: What are your dreams and passions?

Answer: “My passion is to provide the tools of success and loyalty to women, so that they all may exceed their own expectations. I am passionate about passing on the blessings which God has given to me to share with those who are seeking a more excellent spirit.”

Question: Please share your educational background and current profession?

Answer: “I have a BS in Criminal Justice/Psychology. I graduated Magna Cum Laude. I became a Dallas police officer after completing my studies. I continued my education to become a Certified Mediator, Arbitrator, and a Negotiator. I left the police department to pursue a career with the federal government where I was able to utilize my certifications. I have since retired after 30 years of services.”

Question: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Answer: “My relationship with God and my family inspired me to write this book. Writing this book began as a desire, then as an idea, and finally a purpose. My inspiration in writing my book is to ensure that we create a sisterhood that finds favor with God. I hope it helps women like it has helped me to never live by chance, but on purpose.”

Question: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Answer: “The hardest part about writing this book is to believe that what you have to say is relevant or good enough. You always fight through some insecurity. I meet so many people who have a desire to write, but you must discipline yourself and prioritize what’s important to you at that time. You must educate yourself in the business of publishing, because there are many people waiting to seize your writings and publish it for themselves.”

Question: Who is your target audience?

Answer: “I never wanted to write a book that had limits. Even though it is a spiritual book, it is written to all women, because we are all spirits. Of course, everyone in an audience is not clapping, but hopefully they are learning. There are chapters for the married, the singles, the unmarried and for men. When a book is written with God’s purpose, it is to all men, but targeted for those who are honest seekers.”

Question: What is the message that you want readers to grasp from reading your book?

Answer: “The “mess” comes from an “age” old problem. It has instructions that we may not want to hear, but the book is broken down into 3 parts and the last part is an inner-view with yourself. So after reading the book, examine yourself without blaming each other for your faults, because this is something that we have been repeating throughout the years.”

Question: When is your next book signing event?

Answer: “My next book signing will be Juneteenth weekend.”

Question: What did you learn from writing this book?

Answer: “When I wrote this book, I found that even though God purposes us, we are not perfect. Learning what God has put you here for is an intimate feeling every day.”

Question: Do you have a mentor?

Answer: “Yes, I do. We all should have mentors. Really we have one if we like it or not. Someone has showed you what you know. My mentors include my oldest sister Emma, who taught me many of my professional qualities. The second is my mother, who pushed me to be educated and business-minded and not to depend on a man to fulfill you and that God has given all things pertaining to life and godliness.”

Question: Do you mentor others?

Answer: “You never designate yourself as a mentor. Mentors draw people they don’t recruit. So I present what I believe will help an individual, because it is proven in my life by God. If others are seeking the same benefits that I model, then I am duty bound to mentor that person.”

Question: What advice do you want to share with potential writers?

Answer: “To all potential writers, I would say that everyone has a story to tell and you need to write it down on paper, whenever the thoughts come to mind. I also would advise them to research and investigate publishing companies before you sign on the dotted line of anything. You will do better when you self-publish your own book.”

Question: What do you love the most about living in your purpose?

Answer: “I love waking up every day living in my purpose, because God is pleased with me and it keeps me grounded. There is no greater feeling than to know what you are doing is not in vain.”

Question: Who is your favorite author, and what is it that impresses you about the author’s work?

Answer: “Joyce Meyer’s books are good, because she keeps it simple. I also am a fan of T.D. Jakes Ministries, because he researches the woman’s purpose and relationships under biblical principles.”

Question: Who designed the covers for your book?

Answer: “The cover was a collaboration from a rough draft submitted by me to UImpact Publishing Company.”

Question: What book are you now reading?

Answer: “I mainly read the bible, because I want to stay original and not copy any other writer’s work.”

Question: Is there anything else that you would like to share with our reading audience?

Answer: “Your blessings are at the end of the tunnel, but my tunnel may be ten miles long and yours may be three miles long, but always remember that the light is there for you.”

Contact Information for Carol Barnes, Christian Author & Website to Purchase the Book:

Please contact www.barnesandnoble.com & www.amazon.com to purchase the book.

Website: Currently under construction

Email: barnescarol_1732@yahoo.com

Other Services Provided: Currently my husband and I have embarked upon a new journey. We are doing a radio show called My Better Half with Kevin and K’Ceva on PowerPlayradionetwork.com every Tuesday night from 7pm to 9pm. This is a show where we are building relationships in the community by sharing helpful information from different individuals’ stories. The power of two working together has been the benchmark of our success. On another note, my husband helps individuals who want to start their own business or gain back your financial freedom. We can help with that. Primerica offers a wide range of services to help families become properly protected, debt free, and financially independent. If you are interested, please call 713-417-0199.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page